bookcover deja vu

Without any knowledge of the book or the author beforehand, several weeks ago I picked up ‘The Earth Tripper’ by Leo P. Kelley (1973) based on the title, cover art and back cover blurb. It started out well but bogged down a bit toward the middle before ending as sort of a love story. Not surprisingly the characters’ dialog contained the word “groovy”. I think that one word tells you all you need to know.

earthtripper

More recently, during a visit to a different bookstore, I discovered something that looked very familiar.

doomsdaywingI’m curious how often cover art is borrowed or reused.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in books, paperbacks, reading, sci-fi, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to bookcover deja vu

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    I did a post on reusing cover art a few years back — I know of quite a few other examples but I’d have to dig them up….

    http://sciencefictionruminations.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/adventures-in-science-fiction-cover-art-reusing-cover-art/

Leave a comment