“To Be Read” Pile – Thanksgiving Edition

Visited my favorite used bookstore yesterday with this result-

20151122TBR

Based on the title alone my very first by Michael Bishop. ‘The Guardians’ by John Christopher which I began last night, finished this morning and enjoyed very much. (young adult dystopian tale) ‘The Return’ by Isidore Hailbum, three by Philip Jose Farmer, three by Ron Goulart, two by Robert Heinlein and one by Clifford Simak. In addition to the Bishop a lot of firsts for me this week with Christopher, Haiblum, Goulart and Simak.

After arriving home, while flipping thru the Bishop, I caught a quick glance of ink pen writing. Thinking someone had marked up the book that I missed finding before I bought it, I went back to see how bad it was only to be pleasantly surprised to see this-

MichaelBishopSignature

And BTW, at the bottom of the stack above is ‘The Profit’ by Kehlog Albran, (Kellog All-Bran, smirk) a parody of Kahlil Gibran’s ‘The Prophet’.

 

 

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in books, dystopia, humor, paperbacks, philip k. dick, reading, sci-fi. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “To Be Read” Pile – Thanksgiving Edition

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    Ah, I wish I had a signed Michael Bishop novel! He is one of my fav authors as you know… although I have not read this novel yet. I recommend A Funeral for the Eyes of Fire as well as Stolen Faces… and of course his most famous novel, Transfigurations is worthwhile although not as good as the other two I listed.

    • Marcus says:

      Signed paperbacks, especially S-F, are rare in my experience. Based on your posts I’ve wanted to give Bishop a try but so far the ‘Philip K. Dick’ is all I’ve come across.

      • Joachim Boaz says:

        I bought a copy of Norman Spinrad’s Bug Jack Barron for one dollar in a clearance section… Opened it up when I got home and saw a scrawl. “That can’t be a signature!” Lo and behold, looked his signature up and yeah, it’s his!

Leave a Reply

