Recent/future sci-fi reading and a question

When did science fiction evolve from primarily self-contained 150-300 page standalone novels into series with multiple 500+ page tomes? They seem to be crowding out all the slimmer books at libraries and used book stores.

I just finished re-reading Arthur C. Clarke’s ‘Rendezvous With Rama’ only because I wanted to get reacquainted with the beginning of the story before I tackled ‘Rama II’, ‘The Garden of Rama’ and ‘Rama Revealed’.

Picked up three smaller volumes today to balance the larger books. Here they are-

jgballardvoices effingerrelatives silverbergneedle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m a sucker for short story collections by well known sci-fi writers. I read Silverberg’s ‘Hawksbill Station’ with some interest but really want to find his novel ‘The World Inside’. After being disappointed by Effinger’s most touted work, ‘What Entropy Means To Me’, my hopes for ‘Relatives’ aren’t that high but with my tastes you never can tell. I need to explore Ballard more.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent/future sci-fi reading and a question

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    You were disappointed by What Entropy Means to Me? šŸ˜¦

    Actually, it is not his most toted work. Most people read his 80s work. Especially When Gravity Fails (1987).

  2. Marcus says:

    ‘Entropy’ didn’t meet expectations of being science-fictiony enough for my enjoyment. More like a fantasy novel set in the distant past. Maybe if I had read your review first…

    I remember liking ‘Those Gentle Voices’.

Leave a Reply

