DAW Books = SF

As a reader of Science Fiction paperbacks for well over 40 years starting in my pre-teens, it wasn’t until this last year that I can recall actually picking up and reading any Sci-Fi published by DAW books. My impression prior to this was that DAW was more about Fantasy in the form of the many John Norman/Gor and C.J. Cherryh titles I had seen with cover artwork depicting a heroic looking character who usually held a large sword and frequently included of a voluptuous female or some creature of non-earthly background.

DAWbooks_20130720Not that all the DAW titles I’ve read fall into the category of good reads or great literature but I’ve enjoyed enough of them to look closer at those slim, yellow-spined books whenever I’m on the hunt for something new to read.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in books, paperbacks, reading, sci-fi. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DAW Books = SF

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    Have you read Bayley’s Star Winds? I found it to be atrocious… I prefer his other novels — The Garments of Caean, Fall of Chronopolis, Collision Course, The Pillars of Eternity, etc.

    Also, what do you think of Barrett? (i.e. Stress Pattern) I haven’t read any of his stuff yet.

    The Unsleeping Eye (original title: The Continuous Katherine Mortenhoe) is in my top 5 sci-fi novels. Thank goodness DAW picked that one up — the best of your stack by far 😉

    • Marcus says:

      Haven’t tried Bayley yet. Working on Brunner’s The Productions of Time at the moment. Over half-way thru and I’m curious where it’s headed. The Brunner short story collections were less than impressive. Also have his Double, Double in my TBR stack. Stress Pattern was my first Barrett and I found it just okay. Story of a man who finds himself isolated in a foreign, but not completely hostile (alien) environment. His effort to survive is a journey of self discovery. But at the end finds he is being used and is okay with it.

      • Joachim Boaz says:

        Which edition of Productions? Brunner got pissed at the first edition publisher (forgot which) for cutting the manuscript… Eventually an uncut one was released

      • Marcus says:

        First DAW printing, October 1977. Back cover states first unabridged American edition.

      • Joachim Boaz says:

        Yeah, the Signet 1967 edition (unfortunately, the one I own) was the one cut without his permission….

      • Joachim Boaz says:

        Which is a shame because I sort of enjoy the cover….

        ….much much much more than the gross DAW one.

      • Marcus says:

        The DAW cover almost put me off when I first saw it. Before reading ‘Productions’ I was thinking how the two characters on the cover at first glance seemed like a pair of evil clowns. (sorta reminded me of Tim Curry’s character of Pennywise the Clown in the TV version of Stephen King’s ‘It’ but without any motivation – but that is just how my mind wanders)

        Brunner doesn’t really get around to introducing any real sci-fi aspect until 3/4 of the way thru the book. After the story climaxes and the sci-fi “plot” is realized it turns out to be rather ho-hum as far as being original or inventive. But I still enjoyed it for reasons that aren’t related to the genre label it carries. While reading Productions I felt like I was watching a variation of PBS Masterpiece Mystery with a touch of ‘Clue’ unfolding as Brunner laid it out.(without the dead bodies) There was sufficient background setting and character depth to keep me interested in knowing what was going to happen next. Similar to the current Brunner I’m 2/3 of the way thru at the moment – ‘Double, Double’. So far ‘Double’ has a ‘B’ horror movie plot (I imagine watching it in black and white) that I ultimately don’t have high expectations of learning anything from. But once again, it has interesting characters.

Leave a Reply

