sometimes it’s the smallest thing that makes my day…

Even though the foam ear pads on my lightweight Yaesu YH-77 stereo headphones had disintegrated years ago I still held onto them thinking one day I might find replacements. Today I remembered to do something about it. Heading out to run errands I brought the headphones along knowing one of my stops was a nearby thrift store. Not that I had ever come across anything that I thought might work before, it just felt like the time to check around – plus I just wasn’t in the mood to pay $3-$5 plus shipping($$) for something I might find locally for hopefully a lot less. (yes, I’m frugal)

headphonesAs it turned out the thrift store had an old pair of headphones with removable pads in good shape that looked like they might work priced at $1.00 with a label attached stating one of the earphone speakers probably didn’t work. I placed them on the checkout counter and walked outside to grab the Yaesu headphones so I could check the fit. As I was swapping one of the ear pads I explained to the clerk what I was doing and she questioned why the used headphones had ever been put out to sell if one speaker was bad. Once I found the pads fit – perfectly – I told her I would pay for them but was going to trash the headphones unless she wanted them back. She said she would just go ahead and throw them away for me and that I could have the foam ear pads at no charge. I think it was meant to be.

I also found an original copy of ‘Thick As A Brick’ by Jethro Tull for $1.00 with the complete fold-out St. Cleve Chronicle faux newspaper 100% intact and in great condition. But that’s another story…or post.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in amateur radio, ham radio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

