The Anti-Right Stuff

This is the first of 15 novels written by Barry N. Malzberg I own and intend to read in order of their original release. I’ve had them for decades but not read all of them, something I think is long overdue. As I read each book, rather than try to write a review, I’ll post any thoughts that come to mind and include quotes that resonate with me.

‘The Falling Astronauts’ by Barry N. Malzberg

I turned 13 less than a month after the first moon landing and still recall that era of America’s love-affair with the space program well. ‘The Falling Astronauts’ explores a territory different from than the one described by Tom Wolfe. As I read Malzberg’s novel, I was reminded of a book detailing another side of NASA – ‘The Making of an Ex-Astronaut’ by Brian O’Leary, who left the program voluntarily in 1968.

Some quotes from ‘The Falling Astronauts’-

“these things were so devalued a long time ago that they’re just another kind of television. People don’t believe what they see on television anymore so this becomes part of the general mix. It’s hard to get people really involved these days. They’ve seen so much. And television, I’m sorry to say, is a very poor medium for what we like to think of as reality.” (p. 174-5)

“People who don’t understand science tend to hate it and they can always get an audience composed of fear.” (p. 63)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

