Anti-social Networking

After several (failed?) attempts at “blogging”; LiveJournal, Yahoo!360 and Vox, I chose WordPress on nothing more than a whim. I don’t anticipate having any greater success at developing online relationships (or whatever you call them) than I did elsewhere.

As I was dwelling on this subject it hit me that what I had accomplished up until this point was how I titled this post, ‘Anti-social Networking’. Decades ago in high school in response to a teacher’s query about my attendance at a school function, I gave what turned out to be an amazingly prophetic answer in the negative when I stated I was “anti-social”. The real reason was I was too chickenshit scared to get a date; which for the purpose of the event was pretty much ‘de-rigueur’. But enough about my lack of emotional maturity as an adolescent, the subject at hand is the shortcomings of online networking. Besides the complete lack of substance at places like ‘myspace’ what surprises and ultimately disappoints me is the total failure(for me) of sites like ‘facebook’ and ‘linkedin’. I’ve known many people (most in real life) who have tagged me as their friend or contact in the last two named services without ever receiving another word from them for any reason. It’s like they need names to pad out their profiles but beyond that you don’t exist. But enough about them, let’s get back to me.

I’ve not come here to die, but to understand why I’m not living…

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

