something was missed

Not too long ago, while sharing information on books with topics we liked, a co-worker expressed interest in a book on physics I recently finished. I offered to bring it in for him to look at if he was interested. After I remembered to bring in the book I handed it to him assuming he would take it with him but he just handed it back. Telling him it was okay for him to borrow for as long as he wanted it he responded by saying that all he needed was the title and author so that he could download it to his Kindle. What followed was one of those moments where I paused and realized something had changed but not in any positive way I could appreciate. It may have been better for my co-worker that he used an electronic book reader but for someone like myself, whose love of all things related to books is almost reverent, I was greatly disappointed. A book is something with unique qualities based on the way it looks, feels and even smells. To reduce all that to an electronic signal that can be stored invisibly is like not having a book at all.

I’m currently reading ‘Hole In Our Soul: The Loss of Beauty & Meaning in American Popular Music’ by Martha Bayles

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to something was missed

  1. Anonymous says:

    the look the feel the smell
    I understand.

  2. cwmackowski says:

    I actually own a digital reader, too, and there are times that the convenience makes it the perfect thing to have. But I will still always love traditional books and will, if possible, buy them instead of the digital versions. A book, and all it represents, is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

