Can you remember your parents’ wedding date?

The subject of this post is from the poem ‘Twenty Questions’ by Maura Stanton appearing in today’s edition of The Writer’s Almanac. I’m pretty certain my parents were married in March 1950 but I couldn’t tell you the day. Their marriage lasted until dad’s death in 1985. During all the years I was able to do so, I never bought them a present or recognized the event in any way.

In general, trying to decide on a gift for anyone (on any occasion) was difficult. I can recall around the time I was in my late teens with at least a few dollars in my pocket wandering around the mall before Christmas not being able to decide on even the simplest of trinkets for mom or my sister. A bigger challenge was trying to decide what to buy for a girl who had given me a nice gift out of affection one year. I never did get her anything.

Over time the process became easier but even my parents birthdays had to wait until I was out of college with sufficient income. I don’t buy things for occasions most people consider traditional. I tend to impulse shop thinking the surprise and appreciation at receiving something unexpected is greater that way. Christmas is just over two weeks away and do you think I’ve put any effort (or thought) into gift buying?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

