Is Thanksgiving time for holiday cheer or hair-of-the-dog?

In this week’s edition of the free local arts and entertainment newspaper was an ad for a popular south Charlotte restaurant. I’ve had a few meals there in my 21+ years of living in the area. The place always struck me as a somewhat upscale establishment suitable for enjoying a good business lunch or nice evening out. The ad featured five smiling females, presumably wait staff employees, clothed in identical black outfits consisting of very short skirts, plunging neckline tops with exposed midriffs. I can’t recall anyone there ever being dressed like that. The ad states, “Start Thanksgiving With A Hangover” and mentions they are open Wednesday before Thanksgiving until 2 AM.

Hmm. OK.

Another downtown bar billed its Wednesday, November 25th activities as “Flee The Family”. Moving on, I thought another Nightclub advertising “jello wrestling” missed a real holiday opportunity. They should be using cranberry sauce.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is Thanksgiving time for holiday cheer or hair-of-the-dog?

  1. Anonymous says:

    cranberry sauce with a little candy cane on the side
    I’m thinking that if you dove right into the cranberry sauce it could get mighty interesting depending on who you were wrestling with.
    But what’s up with trying to seperate family and state? lol

Leave a Reply

