recent (and future) reads

William Saroyan/The Human Comedy, John Steinbeck/The Moon Is Down

Eric Hoffer/The True Believer – Informative essay on how fanatics and mass movements function and why. Things haven’t changed since 1951 or have they?

Norman Podhoretz/Making It – As a Southern WASP I was never informed nor had pre-conceived ideas about any “Jewish Literary Community”. I thought it was just prose, poetry, essays, etc. (of course my wife thought I was Jewish before we actually met the first time) Podhoretz later took a sharp turn toward Conservatism. I’ve visited the library several times recently to read sections of his book (Ex-Friends) detailing his falling out with various well known acquaintances (Ginsberg, Trilling, Hellman, Mailer)

and in the to-be-read pile…

LeRoi Jones/The System of Dante’s Hell – I’ve enjoyed his poetry (also as Amiri Baraka) and his non-fiction on blues/jazz.

Jerry Farber/The Student As Nigger – Yes, it WAS the title that grabbed my attention and thought it might be sensationally titled just to sell, but was pleased to learn the late ’60s counterculture background on this one. Look forward to reading it.

Robert W. Marks/The Meaning of Marcuse – This one might be a little deeper than my usual choices but Herbert Marcuse’s name has popped up in too much of what I’ve read recently for me to resist.

Margaret Atwood/Selected Poems, Peter Coyote/Sleeping Where I Fall, Terry Bisson/The Pickup Artist

due in the mail via paperbackswap.com…

Paul Goodman/Growing Up Absurd, Marshall McLuhan/Understanding Media: The Extensions of Man, Chester Anderson & Michael Kurland/Ten Years to Doomsday, W.J. Rorabaugh/Berkeley at War: The 1960s

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

