recent music stuff

Co-worker recently ripped his entire CD collection and then brought it all in to share with anyone who was interested for the same purpose. Unable to resist I dove in and this is what I learned-

Bob Marley & the Wailers – I’ve previously enjoyed hearing their tunes(mainly as part of the atmosphere in Starbucks) but I wasn’t able to make it thru their greatest hits collection.

U2/Boy – Nothing reached out and grabbed me like War, The Joshua Tree or Achtung Baby.

Bob Mould/Workbook & Bob Mould – I sorta liked Husker Du way back when (I have their final two LPs) but while I was impressed with Mould’s guitar playing his lyrics didn’t register and seemed ill-fitted to what he was playing.

The Smashing Pumpkins/Siamese Dream – Yes. Finally found one I liked. However, I couldn’t shake the feeling that this one could have been combined with the follow-up ‘Mellon Collie…”(which I own) and it would flow seamlessly as a three CD release. The songs seemed so similar to me. Is Billy Corgan that repetitive?

Wilco/Being There – I really, REALLY liked this. Other than some PBS TV Soundstage(?) appearance years ago Jeff Tweedy and crew have passed under my radar. Thinking about changing that now. (to my ears I could link Wilco at times with Cowboy Junkies, who I’m a fan of)

Nine Inch Nails/Broken – Other than whatever was shown on MTV or printed in Rolling Stone way back when I had access to either, I couldn’t tell you much about Trent. This was my first sit-down focused exposure to NIN and I think I sensed what the attraction is. Don’t know today what mood I’d have to be in to want to listen but in general I thought it was good.

The Smiths/Singles – Playing as I type this. Started off thinking I preferred Fine Young Cannibals but ten songs in and I’m enjoying it. A version of ‘How Soon Is Now?’ by Inner Sanctum appears DJ Subliminal’s Electro-Trance(?) CD I play frequently. Otherwise can’t say I’d ever heard any Smith tune. Not bad.

Frente!/Marvin the Album & Shape – The only two regular releases by this Australian group, I found them enjoyably quirky. They just might be the unexpected “treasures” in all the CDs I went thru.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

