One day there won’t be anyone remaining who will understand what it was like ‘BCP’ or Before Cell Phones. I encounter a steadily increasing number of people who seem to be organically attached to their cell phone. I want to ask the ones who appear old enough if they remember what life was like or what they did “before” because they act like it was attached to their ear as they exited the womb and don’t know how to behave or even exist without it. Personally I think the womb might be the key. Based on hearing just one side of many conversations taking place, the devices are nothing more that electronic umbilical cords.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. felixwas says:

    There was a guy talking on his phone behind me yesterday in the doughnut shop. I had ordered one of those tall cups of coffee (24 oz.) and two bagels. They served the bagels on separate plates, and when the counter worker put the tray down, the guy says into the telephone, “It’s my turn to order now.” But when I went to pick up the tray, the big cup of coffee kind of unbalanced it, and the bagel plates started sliding around, so I had to set the tray down to get a better grip, and the guy says into his phone, “Wait! Wait! The guy in front of me is having trouble with his tray.” I can’t imagine that at any point on Earth at that instant there was a more inane conversation going on.

Leave a Reply

