Welcome back, my friends

Located between Electric Light Orchestra and Brian Eno in my record collection are ten albums by a group widely reviled by many critics as representing the worst pretentious excesses of that dreaded genre ‘Art Rock’; Emerson Lake & Palmer. (“You’ve got to see the show, It’s rock and roll”)

Was there a time when I thought EL&P was the best thing (musically speaking) ever? Yes. Their first self-titled release, Tarkus and Trilogy I found to be highly evocative emotionally. In the era of home-taping, I recorded their albums onto C-90 cassettes and enjoyed many hours of bike riding and walking with EL&P playing on my Sony Walkman with EL&P as the soundtrack. I guess by the mid/late ’80s, as digital CDs and new/different artists came to my attention, EL&P faded away. Recently, for the first time in I don’t know how long, I listened to Tarkus. A full day later and a snippet of the song ‘Stones Of Years’ was stuck and constantly replaying in my brain. (“Has the dawn ever seen your eyes? Have the days made you so unwise?”)

Know what? I don’t mind. Decades later, I still find it enjoyable.(“Still, you turn me on”)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome back, my friends

  1. dearest_b says:

    Rediscovery. I love it. Even better when you find that right back then you already had great taste.

Leave a Reply

