The phone call came mid-Sunday afternoon interrupting my ignore-whatever-sport-is-on-television nap. I hadn’t spoken to Robert in I forget how many years. He was passing thru town on his way to an automatic firearm dealers convention and had a few hours, plus several hundred rounds, to kill. Robert is one of the nicest, easiest going guys I’ve met but his personal life has always been a train wreck. He’s somewhere between wife number five and eternity at the moment still looking for the “right one”. Robert entered high school the year after I graduated so our friendship grew out of whatever social circles we ran in late at night on weekends. I will confess to contributing to his delinquency as a minor with alcohol and he introduced me to the kick of a Smith & Wesson Model 29 .44 Magnum revolver also known as the Dirty Harry weapon. Robert’s version was modified with a ‘hair-trigger’ and I can still recall the first time I fired it. I placed an empty, but still shiny new soft drink can at the bottom of a dry, sand filled creek bed and moved back about 20 feet. My first shot kicked up a large amount of sand as the can disappeared. It turned out I had completely missed the target. The slug had entered the sand several inches under the can and lifted it into the air. When we finally located the can it was almost completely flat and had been scoured clean by the sand so that it was now hard to tell what brand of soft drink it once contained. I saved the can as a memento and carried it for years in the trunk of my car as a reminder what a near miss can do.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

