I’d say it was 50 cents well spent

‘Open’ by Blues Image (1970)

It’s one of those instances where you’ve known something existed and were curious about “it” for a very long time but things never seemed to work out where you’d cross paths with “it”. Then one day (today) you walk into Goodwill, shopping mainly for books, stopping to flip through the stacks of vinyl albums and there “it” is in almost perfect condition; at least a lot better condition than you expect given where you are. Apart from their BIG HIT, ‘Ride Captain Ride’ and another tune on the album covered by Blackfoot, ‘Pay My Dues’, I couldn’t tell you much about Blues Image other than the guitarist later played in Iron Butterfly. Looking back, I’d guess you could say ‘Ride Captain Ride’ was a “one hit wonder”, but after listening to both sides of the album I couldn’t detect a weak or lame cut. Years back I downloaded ‘Ride Captain Ride’ from the original Napster and later burned it to CD for safekeeping. In addition to some well played originals, Blues Image also offers cover versions of Mose Allison’s ‘Parchman Farm’ (less painful to the ears than Blue Cheer’s version) and ‘La Bamba’ which along with other tunes I heard brought to my attention some latin flavor here and there on some songs. (percussionist Joe Lala later played with Stephen Stills and Joe Walsh) If you ever come across this album (or CD) and are open to hearing some solid early ’70s playing I recommend “it”.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

