Borrowing the words of someone else – “I’m from the South, because that was where I was born and raised. That doesn’t make me better than anyone else, and it certainly doesn’t make me any worse. It just makes me who I am.”

I’m a fourth generation “rural” North Florida native descending from ancestors who migrated out of the South Georgia’s Okefenokee Swamp (mom’s family) and a North Carolina bred father who settled in Florida exactly where he was discharged from the Navy after serving during World War Two. It is well documented that family members on both sides served with the South during the American Civil War but I’ve never been one of those Confederate battle flag waving die-hards who act like the war never ended. It’s all history now and my sense of self-heritage doesn’t depend on playing the part of a put upon underdog in a long lost cause.

The pre-Disney World Florida I grew up in and still remember is a thing of the past. Oh it’s still there in mostly out-of-the-way places. Yes, I can wallow in nostalgia for the way things used to be and often question if progress really changes things for the better. It will never be the same and we can never go back but I’ll always have the memories and sometimes that is enough.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

