Straight Monk(s), Hold the Dogma

‘Melancholy’ by Baron Wormser

Weakness—the pale succumbing to loneliness,
Refusing to admit anyone else, indulging
The blue perquisites of adolescence
Long past their sensible deliquescence.

He knew it but went on drinking and regretting,
Not calling his friends and regretting,
Making scenes over nothing and regretting.
It helped to make him despise himself,

Which was, he sensed, what he wanted. He was
Then, in his oblique way, at ease to wander
The city’s brazen or quiet streets, conjuring
Random lives and how the slim arc
Of emotion was pulverized. Back home, he put
On some Monk, lay down, half-cried.

Monk without the Chant. I enjoy both T. Monk (picture above and referenced in the poem) and the “Chant” Monks. I find both are able to transport me mentally when I need to be.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Straight Monk(s), Hold the Dogma

  1. n_decisive says:

    The spouse was almost named Dewey Thelonius. His last name at the time was Linbo, and his parents wanted to be able to say, “Dew The Linbo” to him. Fortunately for him, his sensible mother wouldn’t have it. 😉
    Are you doing okay? Something happen to upset things in your world? I’d explain why I’m asking but it would take too long. I’ll sum it up as having had a feeling.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’m the same.(not sure it that’s good or not) Just waiting for the mail to be delivered. Am demolishing another blog I’ve kept and transporting some of the posts here.

Leave a Reply

