us versus them

One thing I sense wrong with the political process is regardless who wins, the opposing camps remain separate after the votes are counted. Instead of both sides acknowledging the winners, shaking hands and then working together for the betterment of all of us, they remain isolated and hostile toward the other side(s). The primary goal is to get in power and then stay there, not to actually work together to fix anything. Yeah I know, where have I been all these years to not notice this? Was there ever a time in our country’s history when everyone got together and moved forward?

Yes, there are superficial differences but when I peel away the flip-flopping rhetoric all I see are ego driven party-puppets who only care about doing or saying anything to get elected.

I’ll repeat what I’ve said many times before – I haven’t picked a winner since my first time in a voting booth (Carter in 1976) and yet I’ve had little or (probably) nothing to complain about personally as a “citizen”. It makes about as much difference to me who is elected President as it does who wins the Super Bowl, which I haven’t watched since 1975.

And I should care, why?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

