I got your super delegate right here

Magazine ad I came across touting one of those new, trendy “fitness” drinks states – “An overly caffeinated world deserves a sensibly caffeinated water”. I totally agree, Here, have a glass of tap water. 0 mg caffeine!

In other news, I deactivated my facebook account. Did you miss me? That’s what I thought.

Three CDs acquired today –
1. ‘The Rebirth Of Cool’ (Volume 1 – a deeper shade of…blues) I already owned Vol. 2,3,4. Good stuff.
2. ‘I Am The Resurrection: A Tribute To John Fahey’. If you aren’t familiar with Fahey’s(1939-2001) work, he comes highly recommended. Not just by me. This 2006 tribute release might be a good place to start.
3. ‘Santana’ (their first album) I’ve owned the vinyl for decades, taping it for vehicle trips back in the days of cassettes but other than a more recent greatest hits collection didn’t have anything digital to carry with me. Taking up one side of that C-90 cassette I discovered it became one album I enjoyed hearing from start to finish. Repeatedly. I’ve posted here previously how I thought Santana’s performance of ‘Soul Sacrifice’ at Woodstock caught on film for the movie was the most exciting piece of concert footage I’ve experienced, and this 1998 re-release includes that version of ‘Soul Sacrifice’ plus two other songs performed August 16, 1969. Bliss.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I got your super delegate right here

  1. felixwas says:

    I saw an interview with Carlos once where he said he was tripping at Woodstock and thought his fingers were snakes.
    Have we had this exchange before?

  2. kajiracad says:

    H2O…duh
    i have (1) and (3)….maybe i should check out (2). hmmm.
    on order: iron butterfly.
    (wondering what i’ll do with 347 LPs and 170-some-odd cassettes when my component quad-system dies)
    sux to get old. really.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Viva La Vinyl!
      If you go back a few months in my journal you’ll find a video of folks country line-dancing to In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida. Pretty sure it was dubbed. (That also happens to be the first LP I purchased as a teen)
      I have two turntables (but no microphone – ha!) in case one dies. Actually, turntables can still be found. Cassette players though…
      I committed to vinyl at an early age (never went the 8-Track route) and plan to keep all my LPs for life.
      Oh, I’ve found two different versions of The Rebirth Of Cool(Vol 1) released a few years apart with totally different programming on each – though not totally dissimilar.

Leave a Reply

