what a drag it is getting old…Mick should know

Two Sundays ago I received the phone call that most children of elderly parents dread. My sister had just returned from visiting our 78 year old mom in Florida. (In the nick of time too because she was flying SkyBus and had to cut her trip short by several days after she got word they were folding and canceling all flights) She reported to me that mom had started exhibiting those symptoms that make you wonder if dementia was on the way. My sister is not one for hysterical overstatement and she calmly described all the things she had carefully documented during her visit that were cause for concern. We both last visited mom together in October and spent a lot of time watching her during our 5 day visit. At that time I (we) didn’t observe anything that led us to believe she might be in trouble and went about our lives, but in less than six months a lot has changed, Leaving out the details she is showing a lot of short-term memory loss, paranoia, new health issues beyond the normal arthritis she’s had for decades and general avoidance of social contact with anyone.

My sister used to work in personnel at Bowman Gray School of Medicine (Wake Forest) and still has plenty of contacts there. After some discussion with a doctor, it’s very likely she had a mini-stroke or has developed some type of internal disorder. The good news is that depending on which, they can either be successfully treated or at least managed. The BIG problem is getting mom to see any doctor other than the one who has done nothing but keep her on pain medicine for years. My sister and I do have our names on all her financial holdings plus Power of Attorney including the healthcare part. Not that I have high hopes this is going to be an easy, enjoyable experience.

As all this was building last week a thought crossed my mind that I don’t think under normal circumstances I would have ever come up with – by dying at age 60 at least dad didn’t have to live thru this with mom nor experience it happening to himself. I’m trying not to feel guilty for thinking that.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to what a drag it is getting old…Mick should know

  1. mary919 says:

    I’m sorry. My parents just turned 70. I watch and wonder sometimes… and dread it. I’m more willing to fall apart myself than witness it in them.

  2. kajiracad says:

    sux not to have advance notice
    my mother died at age 54. i’m soon to be 53. yeah, i think she maybe got off “easy” sometimes. i just lost my dad (age 79) and his last 2 years were (simply put) HELL. i don’t want to go like he did and i can’t help thinking about her way, as i approach “the day” myself. sometimes i think i wouldn’t mind so much having some “advance notice” of the WHEN & HOW. sure would make my personal financial planning a bit more efficient.

  3. I don’t think that’s anything to feel guilty about at all. My father-in-law dropped dead on the lawn behind the mower at the age of 73, and I often imagine he was given a split second choice… “Stay or go?”
    I finally got my parents to relocate back up here to home base so I can help them as they age. Dad’s 86, Mom’s 75 and they’re still going strong, but it’s so much easier having them here instead of in Florida. Good luck… you’ll need it, I’m afraid.

Leave a Reply

