In touch with my inner teenager

I don’t believe it can be over emphasized that as someone on the + side of 50 it is an extremely gratifying gift to absolutely enjoy in real life the exact things my day-to-day thoughts revolved around, even if they were just fantasies,when I was a teen.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In touch with my inner teenager

  1. naamaire says:

    Heh. Actually, my cell phone makes me feel like that consistently. “Kirk to Enterprise…”

  2. kajiracad says:

    living in reverse
    i’ve “friended” you. if you’d rather i had not (my LJ is mostly krap anyway) i’ll undo it. your profile was interesting and your comments to ‘s LJ are great mind-candy.
    i have a theory that somewhere around age 40 we go into “reverse” and start living life backwards (although not quite like Merlin). i have become very self-centered and that includes looking at myself in the mirror way too much. (i hate mirrors actually.) i have returned to arts & crafts i haven’t touched since i was 20-something. i have pimples again (yuck-o). i’ve got lots of unpromised time on my hands. all my friends would make my parents shudder IF MY PARENTS STILL LIVED. in general, i’m returning to adolescence.

    • kajiracad says:

      Re: living in reverse
      ps: my “friends page” is fully screened (mostly my communities show there and not all of them). your LJ will not be exposed to anyone snooping around over there. you are simply now appearing on my “reading list” (aka as that “manage friends” page).

    • marcsuttle says:

      Re: living in reverse
      For me it’s more the case of never following the signs most others seem to obey that point the way to expected “adult behavior”. Some time around my mid-40’s I began a long period of introspection when I asked my self “how did I get here and what’s it all about?”. (at almost 52 I’m still in that mode) Not a mid-life crisis by a wide margin. I am puzzled why I don’t run into others caught up in the same process.
      I never complain when someone on LJ adds me. You may have to read far back into my archived entries to find anything worthwhile.

      • kajiracad says:

        Re: living in reverse
        i don’t know. i see stuff worth my while already. there are days when i don’t “feel” 52, but the world just keeps treating me like i’m pushing 60!! and that sux. nice to read that i’m hardly alone in my secret desire to run, hop, skip, and jump on the playground again.

Leave a Reply

