cogito ergo blog

I wanted to lead with ‘blogito ergo sum’ but Google showed that phrase had been used at least 24,000 times so I went with my second choice which had less that 10% of the original title’s hits.

Given enough warning, I would stay as far away as possible from any NC college town hosting any sort of ACC related sports event. So why do I end up working in the absolute middle of downtown Charlotte less than two city blocks away from the Bobcats arena which, beginning today, is the location of this year’s ACC basketball tournament? Worst of all is the light rail station I use each morning and afternoon sits adjacent to the arena.

Not that this is necessarily ACC related but I don’t know what to think about individuals whose lives seem to revolve around college athletics. Every vehicle is adorned with window decals, bumper stickers, and vanity plates indicating a favorite team. Plus the drivers’ attire is usually color coordinated to match. Though I haven’t really noticed the trend to own vehicles painted with school colors that was so popular (blue/orange – Florida Gators and red/black – Georgia Bulldogs) and mostly found on 4-wheel drive trucks around NE Florida back in the late 1970’s.

After moving to NC back in 1988 I soon realized the ACC was as close to a (mostly) state sponsored religion as you will find anywhere. Yes I know, Duke and Wake Forest are private but at least one of them has a good school of theology.

I wonder if Hugh McColl was spinning in his golden parachute this morning. As I rode the train to to my workplace (located 40-50 floors up in the Bank of America Corporate Center) I read these words found in the introduction of Abbie Hoffman’s classic (but now somewhat dated) 1970 work ‘Steal This Book’- “Until we understand the nature of institutional violence and how it manipulates values and mores to maintain the power of the few, we will forever be imprisoned in the caves of ignorance. When we conclude that bank robbers rather than bankers should be the trustees of the universities, then we begin to think clearly. When we see…the Bank of Amerika as cesspools of violence, filling the minds of our young with hatred, turning one against another, then we begin to think revolutionary.”

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

