who needs caucuses or primaries?

“A revolution is people acting for themselves. Seizing power over their own lives. They refuse to let their masters have so much power over them anymore.” (quoted from ‘Fuck, Yes!: A Guide To The Happy Acceptance Of Everything’ by Reverend Wing F. Fing M.D., Ph.D., D.D.S, L.L.D, D.V.D., and much, much more!)*

But I really think the Rev. was quoting Chairman Mao.

So far, I haven’t take any of the candidates (or anything they say) seriously; though it is highly likely, barring some form of supernatural intervention, that we will all be subject to their views for four (maybe eight?) years. I’ve reduced my evaluation of potential office holders to a few simple questions, a sort of litmus test, which can be answered simply “yes” or “no”. To me, one candidates views of another are irrelevant. I believe it was Abraham Lincoln who said “Mud thrown is ground lost.” (or something like that) Any type of attack or negative campaigning and I immediately tune them out. I only want to hear what the person running for office believes in. Their views on any given issue are of no interest to me. The “people” decide the issues, not the candidates. Just give me your theory on the purpose and function of government and let everything else alone to be worked out when theory gets put into practice.

Of course this helps explain why I haven’t picked a winner in any national race in over 30 years. I’m too damn particular.

*(rumored to be the author Tom Robbins)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

