I made a decision

I’m hesitant to embrace new technology especially when it comes to audio products. My turntable is still frequently used and I think of my vinyl record album collection as somehow sacred. Years ago I tried to become a true hi-fi snob but thought most of the widgets and gizmos touted by so called audiophiles were overpriced frivolities that missed the basic point of just relaxing and enjoying the music. My audio purchases usually occur after many days/weeks/months of comparison shopping to get just what I think I need and even then there is always some doubt as to whether I made the right choice. So when I ordered these two items online Wednesday-

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

after less than a week’s research and having never touched either one in person I realized I’ve changed. This was truly out-of-character for me. Because I own so much pre-recorded music my intention is to RIP my CDs into the mp3 format instead of subscribing to an online music downloading service. In about a week or so, if all goes well, I’ll post the reason why I suddenly embraced a technology that before I wanted no part of and how I made my choices.

If you are curious the mp3 player is a SanDisk – Sansa e280 (8GB) and the headphones are Sennheiser model PX100.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I made a decision

  1. For me, the best thing about this new technology is the podcast and the ability to listen to it while I move around and perform mundane tasks or exercise.

Leave a Reply

