“A Nation Of Sheep’ by William J. Lederer

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Having seen this title many times I’d always imagined it was from the same line of crackpots that gave us Lyndon LaRouche. Wrong. Last week I had stalled after reading the 40 page(!) introduction to Daniel Ellsberg’s ‘Papers On The War’ and began wondering what else I could read instead. ‘A Nation Of Sheep’ was something picked up at Goodwill thinking it might prove interesting but ended up posted at PaperBackSwap.com without reading. It wasn’t until Friday when I received a request thru the web site to swap the book that I actually considered giving it a try. I found it very enlightening. As someone who never paid close attention to post-World War II affairs in the Far East other than Vietnam, I was surprised to learn just how bad things were managed in Taiwan, Korea, Laos, Cambodia and of course Vietnam (though this book was written in 1961) A little post reading research informed me that many people firmly believe Lederer’s account of what went wrong and why. For students of current U.S. Foreign policy, I recommend reading this to see if things have really changed that much.

A better title might be ‘A Nation Of Sheep led by Arrogant Ostriches and Reported on by the See, Hear,  & Speak nothing Monkeys’

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

