my lost college years – part one

I read where the University from where I graduated has grown from a student body of around 11,000 when I departed to the sixth largest single campus enrollment in the country. The number is somewhere near 47,000 and somewhere along the way I feel like I got lost in the crowd. Founded in 1963, Florida Technological University (aka ‘FTU’) was constructed on a very large parcel of land well (over 1400 acres) well outside (at the time) of Orlando, most of which was still covered with pine trees and palmetto thickets in 1978.

But things change, the first of which was the name – immediately after I graduated.  The new incoming president didn’t feel that our name accurately reflected our purpose so he convinced the Board of Regents and the state legislature to come up with something more appropriate with our image. (I was in student government at the time and felt strongly the name should stay but if it did change my vote was for ‘Florida University at Cape Kennedy’ (smirk) in keeping with our original purpose of providing trained engineers for the nearby space program) FTU was also proudly known as “Florida Tech”. But ever since that name has been claimed by the Florida Institute of Technology (FIT)

When my diploma was sent they had the nerve to ask if I wanted the old or the new name. I have balked at any involvement in various alumni organizations until they change their names to include FTU and acknowledge their roots.

Note that I have not mentioned the new name. This is not an oversight on my part.

Sometimes I feel that those years weren’t just lost, they were stolen.

(part two later if I’m in the right mood)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my lost college years – part one

  1. felixwas says:

    I can only imagine what the logo for your school name suggestion would be. The possibilities are endless for jokes of the Beavis and Butt-head variety. Which is cool.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Another tongue-in-cheek suggestion was The University of Florida at Walt Disney World which seeing what the area has turned into might have been the most appropriate.

Leave a Reply

