easy and hard reads

Over most of last week I struggled to read all 184 pages of Jack Kerouac’s ‘Book of Dreams’, often fighting to stay awake trying to get thru just 20 or so pages at a time – ironic really, if you are familiar with the content of the book. However, beginning yesterday afternoon I started ‘Cities of the Red Night’ by William S. Burroughs, finishing the 332 pages in about one day.

(Books read 2007)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to easy and hard reads

  1. n_decisive says:

    I’ve found that the content isn’t what ends up boring me, it’s the voice. If the style of writing isn’t reaching me, I’m not into a read enough to stay awake for it.

  2. I can’t always pinpoint what it is about a book that either drags along like it’s weighted or has me flying through the pages like there’s no tomorrow.
    Sometimes it’s the story itself, sometimes the writer’s style or voice, and sometimes my mood dictates what I can or can’t read at a certain point it time.
    That’s quite a list for the year so far. I really disliked Reading Lolita… what’d you think of it?

    • marcsuttle says:

      I enjoyed Reading Lolita though it took a few chapters for me to get into the flow and begin to wonder what might come next. Unlike some other titles I can name I don’t have any desire to go bacl and re-read it.
      My reading this year is slower than the pace I set last year of over two books a week. Commuting to a new job really took away from my leisure time.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thank you. There are all out there in bookstores(new & used), libraries, flea markets, yard-sales and Goodwill stores just waiting to be picked up. I’ll have to post my 2006 and 2005 lists. (I haven’t forgotten your inquiry about my favorite Vonnegut quotes)

Leave a Reply

