Beware of *

Reading a Kurt Vonnegut novel usually results in at least few choice quotes by the author that I save in my paper journal for reasons I hope to figure out eventually. However, I just finished an entire Vonnegut novel without once thinking I needed to save anything he said for future use.

But I am curious about the power of an asterisk.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Beware of *

  1. cwmackowski says:

    One of Vonnegut’s great powers as a writer was his ability to roll off memorable/thoughtful observations, one after another, like one-liners. Frequently they were funny, too. Sometimes they were depressing.
    I’d be curious to know some of your favorite Vonnegut lines, should ever feel the inclination to share.

Leave a comment