Are You Happy?

My previous post was the result of wanting to check the lyrics for the Iron Butterfly song ‘Are You Happy?’ which led to me putting the album(In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida) on the turntable and listening to tunes I hadn’t heard in several decades. Curiosity then led me to YouTube where I found the line dancing video.

Are You Happy?

Back to what I wanted to post about. Sometimes I’m happy, sometimes I’m not. Sometimes I’m content, sometimes I’m not. Sometimes I’m satisfied, sometimes I’m not. It all seems to vary day-to-day, hour-to-hour or quicker. Other than the white lie quick brush off answer (Yes!) because I usually don’t feel like discussing it at the moment the truthful answer to the question is, “I don’t know”.

Are You Happy?

I think the answer has to do with being comfortable in how you wear (bear…bare?) your life. But even that changes. For instance, I used to like regular Levis but then they became too constricting. Now I prefer Eddie Bauer or Bass jeans. I recall a Doonesbury cartoon where Mark Slackmeyer’s father compared by way of criticism what his son was doing to his jeans and what youth were doing to the entire fabric of society…which of course was trying to make things more comfortable though Mr. Slackmeyer wasn’t aware of what he had really said.

Are You Happy?

I dunno, let’s have a beer or two and discuss it.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are You Happy?

  1. felixwas says:

    Funny — I’m on my second Heineken as I type this.
    Am I happy? Well, I’m happier at 53 than I was at 23 or 33 or 43. The waistline on my jeans is bigger than it was in those years, but my skin seems to fit better.

  2. I know what you mean about how it varies, but overall, I’d say I’m happy. I’m happier now at 51 than I’ve ever been, and I would venture a guess that I’m heading in a happy direction; I’m easing out of a career that served me well in the past but not so much anymore and into something of my own making. That makes me very, very happy.
    I could be wrong here, but because we spend so much of our waking time working, being happy in a job, at a workplace, with a career probably plays a big role in our overall happiness.
    I have moments, moods, dark days, but I’ve gotten pretty good at waiting them out, allowing them to just “be” without trying to turn them into a smiley face.
    Good post.

  3. cwmackowski says:

    Oddly enough, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the difference between being happy and being content. I don’t know if I’ve come to any hard conclusions, although I think I am happy but I am not content–but I’m not sure.
    Steve Earle’s song “I Ain’t Ever Satisified” always seems to resonate with me.

Leave a Reply

