stuff

As I read and understand what the word “shuttle” means, it seems to me that the Space Shuttle isn’t.

Tuesday morning as I was having juice and cereal in the Charleston, SC hotel lobby where I spent the earlier part of the week. whatever AM news program visible to all showed a story about some new diet pill where the possible side effects included “gas with oily spotting”(?) and other related things I really didn’t need to know right at that moment. The clincher for me to finally leave was two pre-school age kids sitting at a table totally oblivious to the TV who just happened to be making very loud raspberry or farting noises as these side effects were described.

Speaking of Charleston, yes I was there when the firefighters died. I noticed in today’s local paper where one survivor attributed his good fortune to “God”. Does this mean that “God” wanted the other nine dead? I’m sure many people who knew the victims would have an opinion on this.

My sister and her husband visited Germany recently with a large tourist group. This was her second trip overseas (the first was to the U.K.) Among the group were many who frequently travel around Europe mainly consisting of people from the northeastern U.S. My sister said that these same people put her “panties in a wad” with the questions they asked her about conditions living in the southeastern U.S. when they discovered my sister grew up and still lived there. Things like “do Interstate highways in the south have rest stops with real bathrooms”? My sister suggested that instead of their next overseas vacation they should tour Georgia (not the one formerly part of the USSR).

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to stuff

  1. That’s always been my question to people about God and prayer. I’m a firm believer, I just think the masses have gotten the concept of prayer all messed up over the years, no thanks to formalized religion.
    Gas with oily spotting. “Hey, no sitting in the driveway if you’re taking that new diet pill. I just got the old oil spots power-washed off…”

  2. n_decisive says:

    One of the reasons I took the kids cross-country with me was so they would understand more about regional culture. Specifically, what is and what isn’t. People have viewpoints related to what goes on in their own corner of the world, and unless we see what that is, it’s difficult to fully accept why their opinions may differ from our own. Exposure to new is good, but dealing with it often is too difficult for people.

Leave a Reply

