Saturday AM thoughts (carried over from yesterday)

Current Events
Scenes of tears while being taken back to jail aside, yesterday a male co-worker mentioned he admired (but did not envy) Paris Hilton. His reasons were she has the best of all possible existences; she has the looks (in his opinion) of an attractive female, she thinks like a guy plus she is filthy rich without responsibility. What guy wouldn’t want (or to be) all that?

Mea Culpa already
Though I’ve frequently criticized both TV and the Internet as modern day wastelands, for the past two weeks I combined the two when I watched replays of recent episodes of NBC’s (soon to be canceled?) series ‘Studio 60 On The Sunset Strip’ online because I don’t like staying up past 10 PM and the broadcast station reception just doesn’t allow good taping.

Some Things Never Change
Earlier this year I read the Anneli Rufus book Party of One: the Loners’ Manifesto and found at least some of myself contained within. I should have looked deeper. Back in my teens I considered my self anti-social but soon realized introvert was a better label. I don’t mind being around (some) individuals or small groups but when the crowds grow I quickly realize it’s just me and then everyone else. I don’t connect with the masses when I’m surrounded by them. I’d rather be reading a book, listening to music, writing, communing with nature or just thinking. However, I continue to put myself into situations where my lack of inter-personal skills are exposed and as I mentally kick myself for not knowing better often wonder if I’ll ever be driven into being a true loner.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

