I’m not motivated today apart from wanting to blog

misanthropic
adjective believing the worst of human nature and motives; having a sneering disbelief in e.g. selflessness of others [syn: cynical] (I don’t disagree this is me at times n_decisive)

Misquoting something I read elsewhere; blogging is the voyeur’s way into the soul. But how often do virtual interlopers leave behind any evidence of their visit into your thoughts? Proof is hard to come by.

“craving for contact with other people had arisen in his childhood, of which his clearest memories were those protracted periods when he had been alone. From the beginning, he had been an intensely imaginative boy for whom the fantasy of his own thoughts had been the only pleasure.” John Clellon Holmes – ‘Go’

News I consider weird – Jerry Falwell’s funeral will be broadcast “live” by some religious TV channel. Why? Are his followers hoping they will witness a miracle when he rises from the dead?

My wife successfully trapped and caught a feral mom cat and three kittens yesterday. We think a fourth kitten was picked off by an owl or hawk last night based on the scream we heard. Off to animal control they go this morning.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m not motivated today apart from wanting to blog

  1. mary919 says:

    awwww… poor kitty snack.
    although, considering the number of small animals my cats have done in recently it’s probably only right. but still… the circle of life is hard to take.

  2. felixwas says:

    People who contribute to the feral cat population by abandoning their cats should be forced to live outdoors for a couple of months with nothing but their wits to survive on.
    And while we’re at it, let’s make sure they’re forced to do that in, say, grizzly country.

  3. That’s an interesting thought about the voyeur. It’s happened a few times, where someone has added me as an LJfriend after saying they’d been reading my journal for quite some time. I always think, “Huh. And I didn’t even know they were there…”

    • marcsuttle says:

      Other than “private” or “friends only” blogs, I think we are all exhibitionists. I just wish the lurkers I expose myself to would comment with something meaningful every half dozen or so posts at least. Makes me wonder if they are really there or not.

      • See? Now there you went and said something intriguing again. Exhibitionists, are we? I definitely like people reading what I write; I’ve rarely posted a “friends only” and would only do so if I had something to say that I thought might be hurtful or upsetting to a non-lj friend reading it.
        Interestingly, of the maybe dozen non lj-ers I’ve told about my writing, I have no idea how many read; none have ever commented in lj and only rarely, in person.

      • marcsuttle says:

        If not exhibitionism then maybe a cry for help? Attention? Evidence of problems cryptically revealed?

      • I’ll stick with exhibitionist, thanks.

  4. cwmackowski says:

    Funny you should post this today; felixwas just suggested to me this morning that I add you to my friends list because he likes your stuff. I hope you don’t mind.
    My wife manages the local SPCA here, so she has to deal with feral cats all the time. Thanks for being so responsible in the way you’re dealing with them.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thanks. I’m not one who minds being added. However, if you never comment I will begin to wonder if I’m boring you.
      My wife was also heavily involved with the St. Pete, Fla, SPCA when we lived there. (1984-1988) There seems to have been a succession of litters every year in and around our woodpile which we suspected were the same line of cats procreating. A Have-A-Heart (?) trap I bought last year to rid our attic of unwanted squirrels did a great job on the cats. Mom was not at all pleased but the kittens were much calmer. We think the little ones might have a chance for adoption but we’ll never know. We raise Irish Setters and with seven dogs on the property the cats were a big distraction for the dogs and a general nuisance for us. (We have one foster indoor cat which was near-feral when she first came here. She hasn’t been totally domesticized but she’s liveable)

Leave a Reply

