barefoot driving

Many years ago I knew someone who owned a very nice 1956 Porsche Speedster. Used as a “daily driver” it was gorgeous, lovingly cared for vehicle with all sorts of interesting features (including a chromed oil dipstick). However the one thing I learned from the owner was the joy of driving barefoot. His method consisted of using primarily his big toes. (why do thoughts of Tom Robbins, Cowgirls and thumbs come to mind?) Living in Florida at the time was very conducive to leaving socks and shoes behind when going out for a drive. With a 20 mile one-way commute every day now that the weather is warmer and the fact I prefer the windows down without air-conditioning, my shoes and socks are quickly shed most afternoons.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to barefoot driving

  1. n_decisive says:

    I love driving barefoot. That’s actually how I finally learned to drive a manual transmission!

  2. I see the Tom Robbins connection here.
    When I was a young driver, I loved the thought of driving barefoot. I was told that it was against the law. True? NY? Outright lie?

    • marcsuttle says:

      I think it is one of the ‘Urban Myths’. Looked up some info when composing the post and found where someone had researched the question for all 50 states.

Leave a Reply

