where there’s smoke, there’s…a mangled metaphor

My wife has frequently commented (negatively) about various aspects of the town where I was born and raised. Her primary complaint (beyond unsubstantiated accusations of Zoophilia aimed at the large number of local farm boys with too much time on their hands) concerned the school system and its failure to provide a proper education. Grammar and basic grasp of the English language is at the top of my wife’s list.

Every week, courtesy of my mother (who is a product of the same school system), I receive a copy of the local small hometown newspaper mullet wrapper which helps keep me up to date on who was born, married, divorced, died or went to jail. On the front page was an article concerning some brouhaha at a recent county commission meeting where the following phrase was uttered by the vice chairman in response to some action by the local school board-

“Nothing But Smoking Mirrors…”

Was the editor (graduate of same school system) having a bit of fun at the expense of the vice chairman or did the metaphorical nuance slip by unnoticed? I suspect the latter.

By the way, my use of “mullet wrapper” above was not totally out of malice. My home town is on the west bank of the St. Johns River in N. Florida and I have personally witnessed, more times than I can count, schools of mullet jumping or being hauled ashore to become someone’s supper.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to where there’s smoke, there’s…a mangled metaphor

  1. Does a smoking mirror mean you’re looking especially hot tonight?

  2. dearest_b says:

    This post of yours, the one what i just read. Made me out loud it did.
    Over here, theres a common saying about newspapers.
    “Todays headlines to tomorrows fish and chip wrappings”
    So no need to apologise at all about the mullet quip.
    Another thing.While I’m at it.
    If a person is particularly fake or perhaps a little bit of a show off, he is often accused of being…
    “All done with mirrors.”

Leave a Reply

