How to maintain relationships

Me: I haven’t heard anything about former co-worker ‘X’ in a long time, I wonder how they are doing?
Me: Oh good, found their email via Google.
Me: Dear ‘X’ How are you? I am fine. Blah, blah, blah, here are my latest details and new contact info.
‘X’: Hi Marc. I’m fine. Here are the latest details of my life. Blah, Blah, blah, I love being away from corporate America.
Me: Let’s get together and discuss old times and share new experiences.
‘X’: I’ll call you if I’m ever downtown. Bye for now.

Several years later…

Me: I haven’t heard from ‘X’ in a long time, I wonder how they are doing?…

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to maintain relationships

  1. felixwas says:

    This would be funny if it weren’t so true.

  2. joebanks says:

    You never know when you may be speaking with a friend for the last time. Best intentions are kept but circumstance change and suddenly it’s been 10 years since you have heard from an old friend

    • marcsuttle says:

      I didn’t use the word ‘friend’ in my post because the scenario I described (which has happened to me many times)-I believe-prevents friendships from developing. People I’ve known over many years are cordial when approached and are willing to communicate in the short term, but it rarely goes beyond that into any sort of friendship. I think it is a symptom of our times.

Leave a Reply

