maybe I’d be better off working than posting

Around 9:00 PM last Saturday night on my way into work, I stopped by a familiar chain coffee house for double shot of my favorite alkaloid delivered with steamed milk and hazelnut flavoring to help keep me awake and focused on the evening’s task. Printed on the side of the cup was a quote that began-

Many people search blindly for the “meaning of life.” What they don’t seem to understand is that life does not have meaning…

After some Internet searching I found where this quote is frequently discussed in blogdom so I thought I would contribute to the conversation and see if others are interested. (you can search for the remainder of the quote and who said it if you are curious – or you can go search thru the coffee house trash bins until you find the right one) Based on who uttered the statement I think taking it out of context is OK simply because in general I don’t (or haven’t yet) agreed with all that person has to say, except of course that life has no meaning.

Wait a moment…maybe talking about the lack of meaning somehow gives life some meaning! (but of course you have to have a life for any meaning to be possible)

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to maybe I’d be better off working than posting

  1. Very interesting in a multitude of ways.
    The source…used to drive me freakin’ nuts and it’s actually been years since I listened to a word she’s spoken.
    The context…certainly not what she intended, which makes it pretty funny.
    The statement…*sigh* I certainly can’t argue intelligently; all I have is my gut, my instincts, my inner sense that there is a point. Some days I feel totally plugged in and connected, like I absolutely “get it.” Other days, I may wail, “What’s the point?!” but I don’t really mean it.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Thanks for the comments but I have to confess my post was pretty lame. I originally started to work on some ideas around her quote but got nowhere, let it sit all week, then just threw it out there for the weakest of reasons – just to say “why YES, I HAVE posted in LJ recently!”. Now even my posts lack meaning. Guess I suck.

  2. I can see what the person who originated that statement meant, BUT… I think I would amend it to say, “What they don’t seem to understand is that life has no meaning other than what we are willing to work to put into it.
    How are those puppies doing?

    • marcsuttle says:

      You do realize it is a ‘Dr. Laura’ quote I truncated for my own neafarious purposes. The puppies are fine. Still haven’t learned to sleep thru the night. Hopefully we will place the last one (except the one we are keeping) the end of April and our sleep will improve. Also in April we are headed to the Irish Setter National Show held in Ocala this year.

  3. n_decisive says:

    Ah, good old Dr. Laura. She deserves to be taken out of context. 😉 The rest of the quote does change things somewhat, since it makes her sound more like her usual self.
    Do you think that pointing out the lack of meaning in life gives it a meaning would cause her head to explode?

Leave a Reply

