I resemble that remark

“Sometimes you have to do exactly the opposite of what your instincts tell you to do if your aim is to change your life and reinvent yourself” – Dan Kennedy (from his book ‘Loser Goes First’)

After three years of working from home and never having a really bad commute anywhere I lived and worked before that – I absolutely hated, HATED, HATED the idea of commuting all the way into the heart of downtown Charlotte to the point of losing sleep for the first few nights after accepting my new job offer. But now after the first week of my new routine, I’ve found it’s not that bad and for the first time in years actually look forward to work. Go figure.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I resemble that remark

  1. What made you decide to accept the offer, and is it doing
    whatever it was you did from home?
    How long of a commute is it, and do you go somewhere along the way for commute coffee?

    • marcsuttle says:

      It was a too-good-to-refuse customer position in the same telecom industry I’ve been in as a vendor for the past 22+ years. I no longer believed any single vendor had the all-encompassing solution for a given customer’s needs. Selling (I was a pre-sales design engineer not a quota carrying salesperson) is such a….well the words elude me at the moment.
      22.4 miles (about 1 hour) with more Starbucks/Caribou Coffee shops than I can count but I don’t stop. There are 4 coffee places within a 5 minute walk of my desk and that includes taking the elevator from 46 floors up.

  2. Very good. I sometimes don’t mind having to commute. It gives me time to mentally prepare for the day then decompress on the ride home.
    Good lucky with the new job.

Leave a Reply

