profiting from the Holocaust

This appeared as a “news” item in this week’s Charlotte Observer and the more I think about it the more it irks me-

“Tickets have gone on sale for Holocaust survivor Elie Wiesel’s March 27 lecture. Tickets are $65 for adults and $35 for seniors and students. Those who want to meet Wiesel at a 5 p.m. private reception can buy tickets ranging from $250 to $3,000. Those patrons will get preferred seating during the lecture.”

Ironic that Hitler’s policies and programs turned out to be the way to financial success. I wonder if Wiesel says a prayer each night thanking his benefactor?

History shouldn’t be for sale.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to profiting from the Holocaust

  1. I don’t know what I think about this, but I know I will be thinking about it.

  2. You sure have a good point.
    On the other hand, I’d rather see the $$ go to him than some stupid sports star or insipid Hollywood celebrity.
    Hard to think of that sort of thing as entertainment, though. Maybe he’s donating much of the proceeds to charity?

  3. Wow. That’s a pretty interesting point. Is Wiesel donating any of the profits?

  4. papoose says:

    Having read Night, and seeing him speak, I can’t honestly say I begrudge the man.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I sat down and read all of ‘Night’ this morning after finding a copy Saturaday remembering your mention of it. It was interesting and found it once again evoked the same feelings that I’ve encoutered while reading other accounts of the Holocaust. I still believe a used paperback book (for which I paid 59 cents) is somehow more suitable than paying dozens(hundreds?) of $$ to hear the author speak. The message is just as powerful.

      • papoose says:

        For the most part I would agree, at least if the message is written in an effective manner. I don’t have that kind of money to actually meet someone in person, and if I did, I wouldn’t part with it, unless it was something extremely important to me.
        I saw Wiesel speak as part of the St. Louis Speakers Series, and he was one of the more interesting speakers they have brought in. Surprisingly to me though, is that unless they have recently published a book which they are pushing, the speakers rarely talk about what I expect them to talk about.
        Wiesel didn’t talk about the holocaust at all, at least not directly. It seems to me the theme was peace, and keeing faith in the goodness of the human spirit, something he’s had a lot of time to think about, given his early life circumstances.

Leave a Reply

