let them drink water

The only goal I set last year was to continue trying to read a book a week. I ended up averaging just over two a week. Here they are – (The List)

One newspaper article which grabbed my attention last week was about certain faith based groups attempting to make bottled water a “moral” issue. You can search the Internet and read differing views on the topic. It’s no secret the world is full of problems that need to be addressed and somehow resolved. After watching a CBS Sunday Morning segment yesterday about the large sums of money people pay out to throw lavish parties I believe the wrong questions are being asked of the wrong people. My favorite was the Raleigh, NC cancer survivor whose wife spent “seven figures” on his 54th birthday including presenting him with appeared to be a beautiful 1968 Ford Mustang GT500-KR Shelby Cobra. OK. Just how much between $1,000,000 and $9,999,999 exactly did this cost her and why aren’t the faith based groups targeting her frivolous use of money instead of targeting companies that bottle water and the people who drink it?

Also, in the CBS segment, I forget how much money was laid out by the Hispanic boxing champion on his wedding but he needs to ask for a refund from his dance instructor.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to let them drink water

  1. What must it be like to have seven figures in disposable cash to spend on a party, cancer or not? I can not imagine this.

Leave a Reply

