‘The Trial’ by Franz Kafka

In a word I found this book bewildering. Curious as to what it was all about, I began reading “one of the great novels of the twentieth century”. My initial empathy for Joseph K.’s predicament waned as the story progressed. His behavior(including a total lack of what I would consider rational behavior in that situation) as the story turned surreal and then bizarre(the “flogging” episode) led me to hypothesize Kafka was describing someone who had gone mad and was inventing his own reality.(the ending of the movie ‘Brazil’ comes to mind) The only truth I detected was Joseph K.’s death in the final paragraph. I’ve read where ‘The Trial’ was some sort of parable or autobiographical. I’m open to what anyone who has read the book thinks about it.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘The Trial’ by Franz Kafka

  1. papoose says:

    It’s been a long time since I read it, but I remember it being a long, depressing ordeal, symbolizing hoplessness. I think it was the last Kafka I read, because I couldn’t take it any more. (That’s how I normally read books – I find an author I like and cycle through as many of their books as I can. It may not be the best way to do things, but it’s like potato chips.)

Leave a Reply

