Oh Well

Can’t help about the shape I’m in
I can’t sing, I ain’t pretty and my legs are thin
But don’t ask me what I think of you
I might not give the answer that you want me to
(Peter Green)

Pulled my really old (OLD!) Fleetwood Mac albums off the shelf and gave them a spin on the turntable. Great stuff. Most of you should be of an age to remember F-M having a rather significant impact on the various album charts prior to Mr. Buckingham/Ms. Nicks joining the group. If not and you think ‘Rumours'(and the previous F-M album) were the only good works they put out, you also probably think Carlos Santana wrote ‘Black Magic Woman’.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Oh Well

  1. felixwas says:

    So THAT’S who does that song! Caught it on the radio awhile back but they never said who sang it.
    First Fleetwood Mac song I ever heard was called “Bermuda Triangle” (I think). Good stuff.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Feels like a dream, got me hypnotized…is the F-M tune that comes to mind when you mention Bermuda Triangle. About all the strange things happening?

      • felixwas says:

        Yeah, that’s it exactly. It’s one of those tunes that sneaks inside your head and stays there for a while. What record is that from, and how good is the record overall?

      • marcsuttle says:

        That’s from their “middle” period when Bob Welch was guitarist. I’ll listen to the album today and let you know what I think.(I believe it is the one with the baboon eating an ice cream sundae(?) on the cover) You are right- the “got meee hyp-no-tized” chorus has gotten stuck in my brain more than once.

      • felixwas says:

        Thanks for the info. Looking forward to your critique.

      • marcsuttle says:

        The album is ‘Mystery To Me’. Overall just pleasant, well played rock/pop. Nothing jumped out of the groove and struck me as special other than ‘Hypnotized’ and a remake of the Yardbirds’- ‘For Your Love'(written by Graham Gouldman who went on to bigger fame with 10cc).

      • felixwas says:

        Thanks. I think your review falls under the category of “damning with faint praise.”

  2. joebanks says:

    OH Well!
    “Then Play On”! I inherited that album from my sister when she moved out of town in 1979. The CD has a couple more songs that the old U.S. vinyl does not have; shades of shorted U.S. Beatles albums.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Capitol vs. Parlophone
      When one of my best friends from our teens later got religion as an adult he sold of his massive album collection (thousands – he was a serious collector) I was able to pick up all the original U.K. Parlophone/EMI Beatles releases in fanastic shape for almost nothing.

  3. you also probably think Carlos Santana wrote ‘Black Magic Woman’.
    hee hee or ‘Oy yea como va’.

  4. They play that song on the oldies rock station that Matt and I listen to; it’s one of our favorites: ) It always kinda made me wonder what on earth happened to them after the girls joined up…

    • marcsuttle says:

      Of the original group, the guitarists had a habit of finding drugs or religion then going off the deep end. Never to return. Thankfully(for us fans) the rhythm section held together(after all the group was named for them) and kept at it by continually bringing in new talent.

  5. papoose says:

    I have to admit the earliest I have is Bare Trees, but being the guitar nut I am I really ought to check out the Peter Green days.

    • marcsuttle says:

      If you are at all interested in the late ’60s U.K. version of American blues I highly recommend the first 3 or 4 albums. Though Fleetwood Mac was named after drummer Mick Fleetwood and bassist John McVie it was really Peter Green’s group initially. He had just come out of John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers group where he had more than successfully replaced Eric Clapton. The other founding member of F-M, guitartist Jeremy Spencer, was also notable.

Leave a Reply

