Yesterday during a discussion about how retailers may bribe newspapers to run articles featuring their products under the heading of “Holiday Gift Guide” this time of year and how people were willing to camp out in front of a store to be the first in line to buy this year’s hot product, it was pointed out to me that the classified ads contained a large number of new/unopened Sony Playstation 3 units for sale. Sure enough I counted 10 total with an average asking price of around $2300.

You would have to go way back to discover what might be the only electronic/video game I’ve ever played.

Never thought I’d say this but after seeing how the game industry has evolved and what it has turned(us) into, Pong should have never been invented.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. You’d have to be a freakin’ lunatic to pay $2,300 for the new Playstation 3 system. For cryin’ out loud, tell your kid he’ll just have to wait until you can walk into a store and buy if for regular retail price; that’s when he gets it, not a minute sooner.
    My boys (21 & 16) have Xbox360 and play a fair amount with their friends and in on-line gaming communities. So far, neither have been abducted by pedophiles, so I’m guessing they’re safe.
    I ok with it. The times, they are a changin’…..

  2. joebanks says:

    People let themselves be such suckers to get into that whole “hot toy of the season” thing. i guess my kids will be emotionally scarred for life because they never got whatever it was for whatever was the year.

  3. ikahana says:

    You are preachin’ my favorite sermon, Sir.
    The insanity of it all. Good God.

Leave a Reply

