mr. doesn’t-plan-very-far-ahead

Not knowing what day of the week the month of November ended this year I hadn’t given any thought as to exactly when Thanksgiving occurred. (I generally think something in the very high 20’s and assumed it was the week after next but when co-workers started telling me to have a happy Thanksgiving late yesterday I began to wonder) So here it is Saturday the 18th as I sit looking at the calendar on my XP desktop, just now discovering that it’s only five days away. Tells you a lot about my social life and how far ahead (if at all) I plan for holidays doesn’t it? At least I’m given the unexpected surprise of finding out next week is a short work week. Wonder what I’ll do while I’m off?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to mr. doesn’t-plan-very-far-ahead

  1. Well, it seems to me that most holiday planning, especially for something that involves a lot of cooking like Thanksgiving, is executed by women. I can certainly see why you’d not know the date!

    • marcsuttle says:

      There is a total lack of holiday planning in this house. On our own, after 27 years together, my wife and I have never done the traditional Turkey Day thing. Early on we would occasionally visit her parents before they moved into a retirement community and they did the whole layout(my oarents never did – we always visted relatives for that). We are about as non-traditional as you can get.

Leave a Reply

