Like mother, like daughter…and son?

When hanging up the phone after receiving a call from my mom, my wife has a habit of asking “Who died?”. It’s become a joke due to the frequent number of times the death of someone I know seems to provide the main reason mom calls to chat. But when my sister called this week and started the conversation with “Did I tell you ______ died?” it didn’t sink in until later who she was taking after. I can’t remember my sister ever having relayed info about a death until now. I just hope it stops there. Mom’s other favorite topic(that really bugs me) is any health related issue (and she always seems to have new ones) that I have to endure when she calls. She’s actually in pretty good health for someone 76. I’ve noticed the health complaint thing seems to be an inherited trait. If I ever call any of you and start talking about my health you have my permission to(loudly) tell me “Shut up!” and slam down the phone.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Like mother, like daughter…and son?

  1. I’m just thinking about my parents now (who are deceased). Holy cow, I used to call them every single day, and I’m not kidding. We DID talk about health issues sometimes, but only because I brought it up.
    Maybe you should keep a handy list of positive things to discuss? (An idea I got from my dad.)
    Yes, we may have had a weird and dysfunctional family, but it was (is) close.

  2. papoose says:

    My mother-in-law is like that. She goes on and on about the health and or death of people I have never heard of. Not that I would like it if I did know them. It drives me batty.

  3. Death is my parent’s calendar. Any particular, normal event is remembered based on it’s proximity to so-and-so’s death, or 40 days after so-and-so’s death, or the one-year anniversary of so-and-so’s death. And no, so-and-so isn’t one “unable to be named” relative. It’s shorthand for one of a kazillion dead relatives.

Leave a Reply

