Among the 4 or 5 books I started/finished over the past two weeks were two Kurt Vonnegut novels-‘Player Piano’ and ‘Bluebeard’. I liked both but for different reasons. ‘Player Piano’ had an interesting plot/theme about humans being replaced by machines that found myself empathizing with. I preferred the way ‘Bluebeard’ was broken into shorter pieces as Vonnegut jumped between timelines to tell the story. I’m not much of a Vonnegut student outside of his writing but much auto-biography seemed to come out of Bluebeard’s World War 2 sections(as it did in Slaughterhouse-Five).

Multimedia experience – I felt compelled to play my collection of Ornette Coleman CDs while reading Bluebeard.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. ikahana says:

    Hey – I finished Player Piano a few weeks ago myself. I have another Vonnegut in the stack to get to as soon as I finish a couple of others. One of my goals of the year was to read if not the complete works at least as many of Vonnegut’s books as I can get my hands on. Unlike a few others, his humor softens the fury and paranoia his visions create.

    • marcsuttle says:

      When I encounter a dry spell in my reading I find myself wishing for some more Vonnegut to enjoy. Just requested Jailbird and Wampeters etc. via paperbackswap.com.

Leave a Reply

