morning items

Caution – if any of the bills presented by an ATM are difficult to retrieve due to a machine malfunction causing the recipient(me) to “dig” them out of the slot, only a brief interval to accomplish this is allowed before the machine says time has expired, pulls back the unclaimed cash, closes the cover and directs you to contact a representative for assistance. (withdrawing $200 this morning from Wachovia, six “twenties” came out cleanly and I only managed to get three more before being shut out) The adjacent Wachovia branch resolved the problem within an hour after a five minute wait to fill out the paperwork but it just surprised me because up until today my experience with ATMs has been perfect. I took it rather well but still decided to walk across the parking lot to Starbucks to calm down with my usual iced mocha/book/paper journal. There must have been some shift in the fabric of the universe or something-if it hadn’t been for the barista calling out customer orders I would have thought I walked into a day-care center. Moms and kids and moms and kids and more moms and more kids! Everywhere. After sitting down, if it wasn’t the moms/kids constantly coming/going, what I heard from other sitting customers was nothing but bitching/moaning about the problems they and other parents were experiencing with theirs kids and schools. “Starbucks Moms” should be added to the list of cultural stereotypes.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to morning items

  1. papoose says:

    Starbucks Moms
    ugh

  2. I’ll have to keep this bit of news about the ATM machine from my folks; it’ll only provide them with more fodder for their theory that ATM machines are evil and bad.

    • marcsuttle says:

      I’ve never thought of them as bad in any way. Misunderstood/misused maybe. Like the time I say the bank statement of a co-worker who apparently used them every time he need $5 to spend on something, Several times a day sometimes.

      • Of course you wouldn’t, you grasp the concept of technology. My dad is 86. Never used an ATM card, not gonna start now, can’t be safe, wouldn’t be prudent……..

  3. joebanks says:

    ATM machines may not be evil but..OK they are.
    Most important is how do “Starbuks Mom’s” vote? Who will claim them for their own?

  4. Mmmm… Starbucks moms… financially secure… drove there in an SUV… hair perfectly coiffed…
    I wonder what they’re bitching about?

    • marcsuttle says:

      Complaining about how the schools weren’t able to handle their children’s special needs. Sounded like learning diabled kids and regular learners were lumoed together. It just bothered me that the whole place had the atmosphere of a day-care center instead of a place to sip, read, relax, enjoy music and comtemplate the meaning of life.

  5. sidelobe says:

    I used to work with a guy that had made bill pickers for ATMs. He told me that they did rather a lot of engineering on them to make ’em work every last time. New bills tend to stick together, and they really really want to avoid that.
    Many years ago I got six $20 bills rather than five from an ATM. I called the bank to do something about it. After being dropped by two different agents over the course of 45 minutes I finally gave up and decided I’d earned the $20.

Leave a Reply

