Did Halloween die?

Last night we(and other neighbors) turned on out-door floodlamps and porch lights to help guide trick-or-treaters to the front door. None came. Stepping outside several times to check for sounds of kids in the neighborhood I heard nothing. Other than the teasers for local news broadcasts later in the evening, you wouldn’t have been able to tell last night from any other. At least a dozen kids from pre-school to teens live in our neighborhood. It’s too bad they are growing up without the Halloween I remember.

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did Halloween die?

  1. In the wake of our severe storm and tree damage a few weeks ago, we were expecting next to nothing. We got 83 trick-or-treaters.

  2. mmmmgreen says:

    my sister and I noticed the same thing, and we thought it was sad too.

  3. papoose says:

    We had to be gone, so we left buckets of treats out and a sign asking for them to only take one. When we came home there were only a few gone. That’s not usual for here. The weather wasn’t even bad.

  4. It is sad. Although we get a fair amount of kids, we’ve noticed that the streets don’t seem nearly as crowded as they were when I was little.
    Everyone’s paranoid. Would you believe, there’s a registered sex offender that lives a few doors down from us (pedophile) and last year he was stringing up cute pumpkin themed lights and stuff… the upshot of this is, even though I used to be allowed to go out with a gang of friends when *I* was 9, there’s NO WAY I would consider letting Gracie do the same. I lurked in the near distance for every house she stopped at last night.

Leave a Reply

