whither…me, I suppose

How does one proceed, where does one start, to live the life they have come to believe is in the best interest of not just themselves but for their overall environment? How is the who or what  that dispenses the advice and direction for this purpose found?

 

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to whither…me, I suppose

  1. Perhaps from like-mindeds, by their example? Googling for websites and articles, book reading, documentaries, clubs, groups or organizations…. how is any new information found, about anything at all?
    My problem, when I’m ready to step outside the boundaries of my present-life circle, is that I sometimes get too gung-ho early on. For me, it’s better to ease into new things, take in a little at a time, make the changes slowly.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Everyone, without exception, that I’ve come to know and could reach out to talk with I met thru work. (which typifies the problem) When I’ve attempted to approach the issue of doing something “different” (never in any specific detail) I get the same (negative?) response that any choice that moves me away from my financially secure, comfortable, etc. life is the wrong choice. Any “thing” I learn on my own, while great for theoretical mind play (which is probably why I’m having these thoughts), needs some real life experiences to draw from so that the real-life consequences are understood.

  2. Seriously? I’d get a copy of the young adult’s book, The Gospel According to Larry from the library. I’m not kidding. It has some seriously challenging thoughts in it 🙂
    This is NOT a religious book at all. (In fact, Baptists would not let their kids read it.) But thought provoking all the same.

    • PS I know you probably think I’m a nutcase to be reading kids’ lit, but keep in mind that I homeschooled for all those years; how could I have them write essays, do in depth discussions, etc. without reading the stuff myself?

      • marcsuttle says:

        Not that I hang out there often but I’ve found a few items on the ‘young adult’ shelves to enjoy. The one that sticks in my mind was a book of poetry each one told in the perspective of a different kid in school about events leading up to a possible “shooting”(or something like that).

    • marcsuttle says:

      I checked and the local library has a copy. Thanks.

  3. dearest_b says:

    Suck it and see.
    If you think you’ve found a life worth living better. Then i’d suggest that you just got on with it and saw how you coped.
    Chances are, you could have all the advice in the world given to you for free. It would either confuse you. Scare the living daylights out of you, or just plain old put you off for life.
    EVEN if it were right and well intentioned advice, who is to say it’s right for you?
    If you want it. Then do it.
    Who knows? Perhaps then, YOU could be the who, dispensing the how.

    • marcsuttle says:

      Re: Suck it and see.
      It’s more of a feeling, maybe belief that there is a better (more rewarding) life “out there”. Guidance/advice from others that have been there would make me more secure about making the journey. Understanding the ups and downs.

      • dearest_b says:

        Re: Suck it and see.
        Yes. i understand completely. Jumping in blind probably isn’t the best idea for everyone. If you could get me to admit it…and you won’t. I’d probably say that jumping in wasn’t much cop…in reality.
        I wouldn’t ask anyone at work. The very fact that they are in the work environment pretty much cancels out any chance that they can or will see beyond the comfort zone. Especially if what you’re proposing means leaving security and beginning again.
        Why not write about it on here?You might be surprised what comes up.
        Or google for it?
        I dunno, i believe Google knows everything!
        At the risk of sounding like a nag,
        The problem with niggling ideas, is that if we don’t act on them, they just stay exactly that.

  4. Do you mind my asking what you specifically meant by in the best interest of not just themselves but for their overall environment?

Leave a Reply

