what ever happened to Lyndon LaRouche?

I had another revealing glimpse of the political mind today. CBS Sunday Morning, not known for playing hardball like its sibling program 60 Minutes, broadcast a piece on Arianna Huffington. I have to admit to knowing practically nothing about Arianna other than seeing her name occasionally in the news. I couldn’t have come up with a single sentence describing her. However I now know she is an author(haven’t read her), blogger(missed this too), switched political parties(how can you tell?), was paired with Al Franken somehow in a political skit(have’t followed Al since his Dada days on the original Saturday Night Live) and ran for Governor of California during the recall that Mr. Terminator won. None of this had registered on my radar but I’m mostly apolitical anyway. What got my attention were the questions she was asked in her interview during which these and other biographical items were brought forth. I thought the answer might be interesting but in every instance, though I wouldn’t call her blatantly evasive, she managed to suavely deflect the question somehow. Yep, just like a politician. And we are supposed to accept her word as a writer/commentator when she exemplifies the number one characteristic so often found in politicians? They love to talk around the issues without ever committing to a position. Makes me nostalgic for the good ol’ days when political pundits were either more respectable or wackos off in their own universe completely. Should I be more concerned that she (and others) are given an outlet for their opinions or that people actually take them seriously?

About Marcus

Who me? Introverted, neurotic, self-absorbed, increasingly cynical observer of human nature and part time social critic in hiding. Most of my life spent avoiding growing up. The naive idealistic passions of youth have evolved into the eclectic eccentricities of adulthood. Northeast Florida small-town native, related to people I can't relate to. Simultaneously my own best friend and worst enemy. Politically and spiritually unaffiliated, my personal ideologies put me all over the map or off it completely.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what ever happened to Lyndon LaRouche?

  1. mary919 says:

    Ohhh… creepy. I had the exact same reaction. I was unclear about where she came from but knew she was considered a force to be reckoned with in the ongoing unoffical battle between bloggers and the “real” press– I perceived her to be sort of the liberal flipside of Ann Coulter.
    But this morning she seemed like nothing more than a celebrity-wannabe and I did NOT feel as if the piece was biased. I have to say although I usually disagree with Ms. Coulter and often find her abrasive and hard to listen to, I now respect her more than I do Huffington.

  2. You’ve managed to deftly describe exactly what I hate the most about politicians of all persuasions. It’s very akin to lying, IMO.

Leave a Reply

